Feed Your Brain

If I could do one thing all summer, it would probably be sit outside in the sunshine (preferably on the beach!) and just read book after book. Reading has always been a great love of mine, even during busy stressful times in my life when I had plenty to read already (like graduate school). I still try to read a little bit each night before I go to sleep, as it always helps me unwind. I’ve had a Kindle for about a year now and love it, especially for commuting and traveling! I will always have a special place in my heart for physical books (you should see our bookshelves…) too.

Here are a few of the books I’ve slated for the coming months ahead:

The Beginner’s Goodbye – Anne Tyler is one of my all-time favorite writers. Her characters are varied, complex, but seem completely real. They’re usually the stories of average people facing common struggles. This one looks like it won’t disappoint.

A Natural Woman: A Memoir – I have vivid memories of singing along to “Really Rosie” with my parents in our old Woody station wagon as a kid. As I got older, I moved on to loving Carole King’s classic songs and somewhat imperfect voice. I’m psyched to read this autobiography. If it’s written even half as well as her song lyrics, it’ll be a great book!

All There Is: Love Stories from StoryCorps – One of my favorite short segments on NPR, I love hearing from the real lives of people who enter the StoryCorps booths, especially the sweet love stories. The producer compiled a book of love-themed stories that will be one I’m sure I’ll go back to many times.

Mockingjay – Yes, I too have succumbed to the world of the Hunger Games. I NEVER liked books like this at all but after all the hype, I figured I’d see what all the excitement was about (and my fiance read the first one and really liked it). I breezed through the second book in about a day and now am anxious to see what happens in the final chapter.

What are you excited to read?

2 responses to “Feed Your Brain

  1. Awww you like StoryCorps! Yay! Also, Mockingjay made me cry.

  2. I’ll have to check out The Beginner’s Goodbye. I’m looking forward to reading The Good Father by Diane Chamberlain (she is one of my all-time favorite authors that I discovered last summer), as well as so many others. I too wish I could read every second of every day and never stop, but sleeping and eating are unfortunately a bit important.

Talk to us

